escapism
The world is never quiet, even its silence eternally resounds with the same notes... Music = a melodic escapism from that silence..
Friday, August 15, 2008
Middle Fork American River (pix on my facebook)
Rafting with Matthew, Nasser, Daniel, and Joey on August 14th down Middle Fork American River, a class III-IV river *(popped our rafting cherry).
The night before we camped out and set up our weird looking tents... pix up later, it was hilarious because our tents were crooked compared to everyone elses, and we had a 'mini' one man tent which was set up by just throwing it in the air, lol. Our tent making skills took about 1 hr.. and it still looked like crap ahaha.We were 'newbs' so for dinner Nasser wanted to heat up his soup, so we walked to the store nearby and tried to buy something to eat at the restaurant. This weird looking lady came out and blocked the door really fast. Nasser was like "can we use your microwave?" lol and she seemed really.. eager to shoo us off (also w/ an inside joke). So she pointed us to a shop down the road, which was named "Deli, Liquor, and Lotto"
Matthew and I decide to buy a pizza, (what noobs we are buying this food.) So the guy is like "YOU ROOKIES, WHERES YOUR MAMA?!"
"YOU POOR LITTLE BABIES DON'T KNOW HOW TO CAMP OR WHAT? NEED MOMMA TO COOK SOMETHING?!" ...something to that effect, and hes like, "You can't microwave that pizza, what do you think this is, a deli??!?!" This was the main joke of the night because it was in fact, a deli. Also Nasser dubbed him the "contradicting man" because we are shopping at his store, giving him business, and he treats us like that, also the deli joke. lmaooooo
We didn't want to talk back to this man, because we had a feeling he had a shotgun under his table, he was one of those guys, ya know? lol so he proceeds to tell us the 'exact time' we should microwave our other stuff, and Nasser decides to microwave his noodles. He said, where you gonna get water from?? We are like uhhh we bought some... lol man this was the funniest thing of the trip, you need to be there to understand our jokes for that night. So we ended up returning the pizza, and Matt and I just decided to buy Lunchables and a sandwich. LOL. We were also joking because we were the only 'minorities' on the camp, and that the microwave lady singled us out (another inside joke lol). We swam in their little pool afterwards, having a little trouble because most of us haven't been in a pool in a long time. We had a few races and felt like idiots trying to be "Michael Phelps" and doing "reverse turns" under the water, which ended in utter FAILURE Towards 8:00 PM ish, some filipinos arrived next to us, and we were like, hey, brown people! (inside joke, no harm meant lol :)
but yeah, those filipinos and our group stayed up way past the 'quiet time' which was 10PM, and were probably too noisy until 12AM. I couldn't sleep for 3 hours because of the snoring. In the middle of the night, I heard a loud cat followed by some smell later on in the morning (skunk). Nasser's ringtone was hilarious. It was "Who Let The Dogs Out" which rang at 6:30, when NO ONE was awake. Middle Fork bus was leaving at 7:30 AM sharp. That probably woke up the whole camp, lol. WELL on with the trip..
Our guide Jeff was fantastic...the scenery was beautiful
The trip started off really crazy because "Good Morning" was the first rapid which was super cold and fast (below 50 degree water)... Later
we saw a few people downstream who caught a few large trout, some "Jesus birds" because they walk on water, and a few other crazy things, such as water snakes, and baby turtles. We even stopped to pick some berries fresh off the vine. Another cool little event was the 'surfing' part of the trip which is where the water meets downstream and upstream.
There was a rapid on the trip in which one of the boats got stuck (after the portage falls) because they didn't veer to the left, and went on the harder right path with a jagged rock.
We had to use our teamwork (15+) people to pull the boat out. Kendra was the guide of that boat. The other guides seemed awesome too. Jose? I believe was his name, was a really laid back and FUN guide. He splashed water all over our boat and we had a water fight.
One person fell out of our boat at the last rapid called "Cannonball"
It was a crazy rapid which was totally unexpected. This class III-IV rapid was pretty easy for us beginners....
overall an awesome experience, which we will do again!

Next up: Class IV-V North Fork in April
I'll be 21.. bring on teh booze lol
posted by Unknown @ 12:21 AM   2 comments
Saturday, July 19, 2008
Batman
I Went to Oakridge Theater of Friday to see the 10:55 PM showing of The Dark Knight.
Got there around 9 to pick up a Subway and a Green Tea Frappucino. I found a table, ate, and read a little bit of my book for my test on Monday. Kevin and Loi arrived around 9:10, and we went upstairs to see if there was a line around 10ish.. and boy was there a line. Luckily, we got there early before the line had reached all the way to the arcades. Soon after, Anh, Daitin, and Michael showed up. We managed to get some good seats.
The movie was, all in all, Epic. Heath Ledger's performance was what everyone said it was, and even better. He is the greatest villain of all time. Every time he was onscreen, I felt tense, because he had no motives. He was a new villain like no other. I won't spoil anything, but my favorite scenes were the 'magic trick' scene and the interrogation scene. Anyways, this was more of a character oriented story, rather than an action film, however, the action dispersed throughout the film was enough to make me wet myself. The story was well crafted with no plot holes found in the first time viewing. I loved every minute of it, and I do agree, that this is the best superhero movie of all time. Spiderman and Superman can't touch this masterpiece. People on the IMDB are referencing another movie called A Clockwork Orange. Someone in that movie has nearly the same badass value as the Joker. Maybe I'll give that movie a go.

Anyways, I got work in... 2 hours, so talk to you all tomorrow!
posted by Unknown @ 3:05 AM   0 comments
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
Basketball
Played bball today with the crew consisting of Adam a.k.a A-Train/Yao v.2, Kevin a.k.a K-Train/Yao v.1, Anh a.k.a. the cheese and myself.
Well, we came up with these nicknames because if you were ever in the lane with Kevin or Adam driving in, you'll feel as if you got hit by a train. Anh is dubbed the "cheese" by Kevin because he has many 'holes' in his defense.
Well, it started off horrible, I couldn't make any shots. We had some 2 on 2 after playing 21. It was Kevin and I vs. Adam and Anh. We won the first game, and lost the last 2. Toward the end though, I was making a few J's, my free throws were being drained, and I even made a few drive in lay-ups. We just couldn't stop Adam when he got his left handed hook going... there's no way to defend that since he drives from the left and just hooks it. Overall, it was very competitive and FUN as usual, with the games being very close. We were all fatigued, and it was getting dark, but we managed to finish before it was pitch black.
Well, I have to start studying for my nutrition quiz and start on my homework.
Yay for my first blog.

=]

-andoKun
posted by Unknown @ 10:09 PM   0 comments
Tokyo Jihen-Dynamite Out-Marunochi Sadistic


FIRST POST! Shiina Ringo. She is bomb
posted by Unknown @ 6:42 AM   0 comments

About Me

Name: Unknown
Home:
About Me:
See my complete profile
Previous Post
Archives
Links
Powered by

BLOGGER